Pearson Test of English General

Courses & Exams

PTE General is designed to reward positive achievement in English language learning. The test is an assessment solution as it is intended for learners of English who are speakers of other languages (ESOL).

PTE General integrates all four skills (listening, reading, speaking and writing) and focuses on assessing the ability of communicating in English, rather than test-taking skills.

Please note that both the Written and Spoken parts need to be attempted to achieve a passing grade.

The PTE General test is not recognised for immigration purposes. If you require a test for immigration purposes, please visit PTE Academic

Test levels

All six levels six levels of proficiency (A1, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5) are designed to assess and accredit general English language ability.

Test format

The test consists of two parts: a written paper and a spoken test, and assesses four skills: listening, reading, speaking and writing.

Where is it accepted?

PTE General is recognised globally by universities, employers and national education authorities as evidence of a required standard of English.

Why choose PTE General?

Prove your skills to employers and universities with a prestigious international English language qualification.
  • Accepted by hundreds of schools, universities and government bodies around the world
  • Measures real-world English skills, using the type of language you will encounter in a classroom or social setting
  • Test format allows the opportunity to express yourself and demonstrate your skills with familiar scenario-based activities like writing messages, understanding newspaper articles, or participating in a conversation

PTE General: Product overview video