International English Language Testing System

Courses & Exams

The IELTS test assesses the English language proficiency of people who want to study or work where English is the language used. It provides a fair, accurate and relevant assessment of language skills based on well-established standards and covers the full range of ability, from the beginner through to a very high level of proficiency.

IELTS tests come in two types: Academic or General Training. Test takers can choose either type of test according to their educational and professional goals as well as any visa requirements. Both tests comprise four separate parts that assess each of the four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking.


  • IELTS is the world’s most popular high-stakes English language test over 2.5 million tests each year.
  • More than 9000 organisations in over 140 countries recognise and use IELTS for selection purposes.
  • IELTS is offered at more than 1000 locations worldwide including over 50 locations in the USA.
  • Test questions are developed by English as a second language specialist in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK and the US.
  • Test questions are based on authentic materials sourced from all over the world.

IELTS Key facts

Test takers can choose between two test – IELTS Academic or IELTS General Training.

* The Listening and Speaking components are the same for both IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training

What can I do with my IELTS?

IELTS for Study
IELTS Academic is suitable for people planning to study in a higher education or seeking professional registration. It assesses whether a test taker is ready to begin studying or training in the medium of English. Making effective use of written texts in academic work is a skill to be acquired at college or university, not one that students at all levels should be expected to possess on entry. For this reason, IELTS Academic testing reflects some features of academic language but does not aim to stimulate academic study tasks in their entirety. This approach is widely supported by the institutions that recognise IELTS.

IELTS General Training is suitable for test takers planning to train, undertake work experience or study below degree level in English-speaking environments. IELTS is also a requirement for migration to some countries.

The IELTS partners work to help university admissions departments and other test users better understand the complex relationships between English language proficiency and subsequent academic success. This includes building awareness of key influences on academic outcomes and other factors, such as provision of ongoing language and study skills and support for international students.

IELTS for professional registration
In most countries where English is the main language of communication, evidence of acceptable English language skills is a prerequisite for international graduates/applicants seeking professional registration.

Professional registration bodies around the world trust IELTS as a quality test that has proven to be reliable, consistent and secure for more than 20 years. Research has also shown that many professional associations prefer the IELTS approach to testing speaking skills using a face-to-face test.

  • IELTS is accepted by professional registration bodies and associations in Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa, the US, the UK as well as many non-English-speaking countries.
  • Many of the registration bodies that accept IELTS represent the health care profession, such as nursing, medicine and pharmacy, where English language competence is of critical importance.
  • Other professional bodies in particular countries requiring an IELTS result include accounting, engineering, law and veterinary practice.
  • A wide range of other employers from sectors such as banking and finance, government, construction, energy and natural resources, aviation and tourism also require IELTS.

IELTS for migration
Evidence of English language proficiency is a requirement for skilled migration visas for most English-speaking countries. IETLS is accepted as evidence of English language proficiency by the UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI), the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP), Immigration New Zealand (INZ) and by Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC).

Understanding IELTS scores

IELTS has nine bands. Each band corresponds to a level of competence in English. All parts of the test and the overall band score are reported in whole or half bands, e.g. 7.0, 8.5.
Learn more : IELTS Results